Caritas Diocesana

The diocesan Caritas is a pastoral organism that has the task to steer the ecclesial communities to the sense of charity towards people and communities that find themselves in difficult situations and to translate it into concrete interventions.

The Charter assigns to the pastoral care of Caritas the task of serving three recipients to whom three main areas of action can be referred, while maintaining a unitary mandate for service and animation: the church, the poor, the world.

Three pastoral tools: the Listening Centers, the Observatory on Poverty and Resources and the Caritas Promotion Laboratory.

Caritas pays attention to areas of need, intervenes in emergencies, protects rights, thanks to the pastoral method based on listening, observation, discernment and animation.

In the Ecclesiastical Region of Umbria there are 8 Diocesan Caritas: Assisi-Nocera Umbra-Gualdo Tadino, Città di Castello, Gubbio, Foligno, Orvieto-Todi, Perugia-Città della Pieve, Spoleto-Norcia, Terni-Narni-Amelia.